International Safety Awards 2018 are launched

Published:  03 October, 2017

British Safety Council launches International Safety Awards 2018 with two new award categories – for employee wellbeing and health & safety innovation

The British Safety Council’s International Safety Awards are an internationally recognised accolade for safety excellence. The Awards, in their 60th year in 2018, celebrate organisations that go the extra mile to keep their workers and workplaces healthy and safe.

The awards will open for applications on 3 October to organisations of all sizes, types and sectors – both members of the British Safety Council and non-members, in the UK and internationally.

The International Safety Awards 2018 will recognise and reward organisations which have demonstrated a true commitment to achieving high standards of health and safety during the 2017 calendar year. Last year, 535 organisations from a wide range of industries, countries and continents won an International Safety Award.

New Awards: Employee Wellbeing Initiative and Health and Safety Innovation Awards

For the first time, organisations can apply for two new awards which are designed to recognise and celebrate employee wellbeing initiatives and occupational health and safety innovations implemented by organisations across the world.

The Employee Wellbeing Initiative Award will recognise and reward organisations that have implemented initiatives that promote and demonstrate a proactive and effective approach to improving worker wellbeing. The Health and Safety Innovation Award will recognise and reward organisations that can demonstrate fresh and innovative approach to improving health and safety at work.

Launching the awards, Mike Robinson, the British Safety Council’s Chief Executive, said: “This year we are introducing two new categories of the Awards. The Employee Wellbeing Initiative Award reflects the growing commitment of the industry and the investment companies are making in wellbeing initiatives. They lead to better staff engagement and productivity and benefit both employees and society more widely. We are also very pleased to introduce the Health and Safety Innovation Award that will reward businesses going the extra mile to improve health and safety of their workers.”

Individual Health and Safety Champion Awards

The British Safety Council is again running two awards to recognise individual employees who have gone beyond the call of duty to help ensure the health and safety of their colleagues.

The Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award – for non-health and safety personnel aged 24 or over – and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award – for non-health and safety personnel aged under 24 – allow organisations to nominate individual employees who have given their time to improve health, safety and wellbeing at work.

This year, for the first time, any organisation can enter its employees for the Champion Awards – whether or not the business is applying for an International Safety Award.

Celebrate at the 60th year of the International Safety Awards at a Gala Dinner

All the winners of the awards will be invited to celebrate their success at the spectacular 60th International Safety Awards Gala Dinner which will take place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Friday 27 April 2018.

The closing date for applications for the awards is Monday 5 February 2018 and the results will be announced on Friday 9 March 2018.

To apply go to:

Sign up for the PWE newsletter

Latest issue

To view a digital copy of the latest issue of Plant & Works Engineering, click here.

View the past issue archive here.

To subscribe to the journal please click here.


"How is your manufacturing business preparing for a net Zero target?"