Motion Control Industry Awards winners announced

Published:  20 June, 2017

The winners of the 2017 MCIA were announced at the recent gala awards ceremony held at the National Conference Centre in Birmingham.

The MCI Gala Awards Dinner brought together the entire motion control industry in a celebration of business and professional excellence. Recognising and rewarding the achievements of both individuals and companies operating within this important industry sector, personal endeavour, technical innovation, engineering advancement and commercial acumen.

The opening address was jointly given by James Maziak, President of BCAS and Chris Buxton, CEO of BFPA. Commenting on this year’s awards programme, Chris Buxton, CEO of the British Fluid Power Association said, “I am delighted to say that the 2017 Motion Control Industry Awards dinner was a great success…This success only adds credence to the belief that generic motion control technology is becoming the industry norm and that a narrow focus upon specific technologies no longer reflects the demands of an ever more sophisticated and digitised end-user market….Generic motion control is core to the future development of UK industry and the UK Motion Control Awards Dinner is the only event of its kind in support of this rapidly growing sector.”

Alastair Johnstone, managing director, Bosch Rexroth added: “We were proud to be a sponsor of the MCI Awards for the second year running. The motion control industry is key to supporting British manufacturing. It is the products and ideas from this industry that help to maintain and drive forward the quality and competitiveness of British manufactured products. These awards provide a vehicle to recognise companies and individuals responsible for world-class product innovation and initiatives that would otherwise go unnoticed.”

The Winners

Technical Innovation of the Year


Winner: JCB Hydradig

Environmental/Energy Efficiency Award

Sponsored by Bosch Rexroth

Winner: Gardner Denver - Triple ROBOX Energy Screw Compressor

Project of the Year

Sponsored by ABB

Winner: Bosch Rexroth - Offshore Wind Farm Piling Template

Distributor of the Year

Sponsored by Beaumanor Engineering

Winner: Thorite

Manufacturer of the Year

Sponsored by Hydraulics & Pneumatics

Winner: ABB

Contribution to Skills & Training

Sponsored by Drives and Controls

Winner: The Bosch Rexroth Challenge

Engineer of the Year

Sponsored by Parker Hannifin

Winner: Graham Fick, Zikodrive Motor Controllers

Lifetime Contribution

Sponsored by BCAS

Winner: Derek Turnbull MBE

Lifetime Contribution

Sponsored by BFPA

Winner: Gary Wyles

Sign up for the PWE newsletter

Latest issue

To view a digital copy of the latest issue of Plant & Works Engineering, click here.

View the past issue archive here.

To subscribe to the journal please click here.


"How is your manufacturing business preparing for a net Zero target?"