IET opens entries for 2017 Innovation Awards

Published:  18 April, 2017

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has opened its search for the most game-changing engineering, science and technology innovations the world has to offer as part of its prestigious 2017 Innovation Awards programme.

The IET Innovation Awards recognise the most pioneering and progressive innovations across 15 industry categories, from energy and sustainability to transport and healthcare.

The awards are free to enter and any individual, company or organisation anywhere in the world with an innovative idea or product can enter. They provide a unique platform for both budding and established engineering inventors to gain increased and invaluable exposure for their work on a global stage. All shortlisted and winning entries are promoted to the IET's membership across the globe, which surpasses 168,000.

2016 double-award winner Paul Cain, strategy director at FlexEnable, says success in the IET Innovation Awards provided a platform for their company's growth: "The IET Innovation Awards are among the most prestigious awards celebrating innovation and engineering excellence. To be crowned the winner in not one, but two categories has been a tremendous recognition of FlexEnable's revolutionary flexible electronics technology, and directly helped in promoting our award-winning technology, globally."

Professor Jeremy Watson, IET President, commented: "Our Innovation Awards put the achievements of the incredible inventors who work in engineering and technology around the world into the spotlight and play a critical role in helping them further their endeavors.

"Innovation is an essential cornerstone for the growth of the global economy and raising the standard of living in all communities. It is a key differentiator that makes companies and projects successful and, in keeping with the IET's mission to inspire excellence in engineering and technology, we now invite applications to find the best innovations from across the world."

Each category of the Innovation Awards is independently judged by a panel of experts in that field, with the shortlist announced in late September. The winners will be revealed at a black tie dinner and ceremony on Wednesday 15th November 2017 at the Brewery in London.

Sign up for the PWE newsletter

Latest issue

To view a digital copy of the latest issue of Plant & Works Engineering, click here.

View the past issue archive here.

To subscribe to the journal please click here.

To read the official BCAS Compressed Air & Vacuum Technology Guide 2018 click the image


"How is your manufacturing business preparing for a net Zero target?"


Events Diary