RoSPA Awards 2017 open for applications
Published:  06 October, 2016

The Royal Society for Prevention of Accidents (RoSPA) Health and Safety Awards are now open for applications. RoSPA reports summer 2016 saw the scheme reach its 60th year, with nearly 2,000 organisations submitting an entry and more than 1,200 awards handed out at three ceremonies in London, Birmingham and Glasgow.

The entry process for the 2017 awards round has now opened, in what promises to be another huge year for the charity as it achieves another milestone – its centenary, and to celebrate its 100 years, RoSPA will be introducing a new level of award to recognise those organisations which have achieved consecutive Golds over 25 years or more, the Patron’s Award.

The Health and Safety Awards scheme is the largest and longest-running programme of its kind in the UK, and one of the most prestigious in the world in any discipline.

Open to businesses and organisations of all types and sizes from across the UK and overseas, the RoSPA Awards recognise commitment to accident prevention in the workplace.

Individuals who promote safety in their workplace or with their communities are also recognised through the Guardian Angel Awards, which run alongside the Health and Safety Awards.

Presentation ceremonies for the internationally-recognised RoSPA Awards will once again be held in London, co-located with the Safety and Health Expo 2017, as well as in Birmingham and Glasgow. They will take place at ExCeL London on June 20, the Hilton Birmingham Metropole on July 12-13 and the Hilton Glasgow on September 14.

Thousands of winners and their guests will attend RoSPA’s daytime ceremonies and evening gala dinners to receive their accolades.

Julia Small, RoSPA’s head of awards and events, said: “For the second year in a row RoSPA will be marking a huge milestone in its history, and we are pleased to be introducing this new level of award, the Patrons Award.

“Only those organisations that have shown exceptional levels of commitment to occupational health and safety over a quarter of a century will be eligible, making it one of the top international health and safety accolades.

“The awards allow businesses and organisations to showcase their commitment to their staff, customers and clients, and are always a highlight in the corporate calendar.”

The majority of awards are non-competitive and mark achievement at merit, bronze, silver and gold levels. As well as the Patron’s Award, Gold Medals, President’s Awards and Orders of Distinction are presented to organisations sustaining high standards over time.

Competitive awards go to the best entries in 23 industry sectors including construction, healthcare, transport and logistics, engineering, manufacturing and education.

There are also specialist awards for workforce involvement, occupational health, environmental management and fleet safety, and a trophy for the best organisation operating or based in Scotland. RoSPA’s top accolade is the Sir George Earle Trophy.

Headline sponsor for the awards will be NEBOSH - the National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health - for the 12th consecutive year.

For more information about the RoSPA Awards, or to register for the 2017 scheme, visit

Sign up for the PWE newsletter

Latest issue

To view a digital copy of the latest issue of Plant & Works Engineering, click here.

View the past issue archive here.

To subscribe to the journal please click here.

To read the official BCAS Compressed Air & Vacuum Technology Guide 2018 click the image


"How is your manufacturing business preparing for a net Zero target?"


Events Diary